Glorious Sky For A Glorious Guy?

View.pngI was rather pleased about this view from my flat this morning. I don’t live in the prettiest town, but this was a nice treat whilst eating breakfast. And it seemed to rub off on the rest of my day…what a day.

So, to start with, I got the promotion I wanted at work. I’ll soon be in the labs full time and supporting the scientists hands on with whatever they need doing. It’s not the lab that I wanted to be working in (one of the new pioneering smart labs), but still a good step forward. So I’m chuffed to bits.

Then, I had a very productive meeting with Nick in which we ironed out some details that really needed ironing out. Still more work to be done, but we’re making good progress now; we have a lot of words on paper. More than I’ve ever written in one story myself. How much detail we are forced to skip for the sake of a better novel has really highlighted to me just how much detail I have for this story – my pitch doc to Nick was over 10k words on its own.

And all else is going well – I’m seeing some good friends this weekend for some karaoke; I plan to get thoroughly pickled. I may also need to get everyone else in the bar pickled so they don’t mind my singing.

Regarding the drinking and drugging – I haven’t mentioned this in a while. I basically am still drinking (though not as much) and smoking (again, not as much). I’m not proud of myself but at least I’m managing to keep a handle on it. After I’ve had a good piss up this weekend, and finished what remains of my stash – I can’t at the moment as I’m watching out for a spot drug test a la the promotion – I’m going to try cold turkey again.

I like cold turkey in a sandwich so it stands to reason that this should work. More time and energy to focus on the important things. Like the book. Like saving money. Like working, and starting to run again. Fucking ace, I like that plan.

See you next Tuesday.

Leave a comment